Family Time, Twins

Multiple Mommy Rule #1 – Take on only what you know you can handle.

Here is the first in my series of rules for the mom with multiples. I am by no means an expert but I think it may help others to share what works for me. These rules are nothing revolutionary, again just what seems to work well for me.

A big rule for me is to never take on more than I am sure I can handle when it comes to activities outside of the house. Weekdays are filled with work, school and other must-dos. Weekends are supposed to be for fun. On weekends, we try to take on only one big commitment. That means only one birthday party, play date, trip to the park in

 

a weekend. Or nothing but my son’s game on a Saturday. You’ll never catch my family rushing from one event to the next. That won’t be us. Yes that does mean that I sometimes have to turn down invitations. But the feeling that you’re disappointing someone for being late or disappointing the kids by not making each experience the best it can be really is much worse.

I know I am not supermom. I don’t even try to be. I know that no matter what it will take forever to leave the house. Someone will spill something at the last minute and mess up their clothes. Someone may need to use the bathroom at the last possible second. I live for the moment when everyone is belted down in their car seats and boosters and we are backing out of the driveway.

I am at my best when I am not stressed and not trying to make a million things come together. It is important to be in the moment and not to be constantly worrying about what’s next. Worrying about one birthday gift, the traffic to one event, the properly stocked diaper bag for one day out is just about all that I can handle.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This is me!

Twenty fingers, Twenty toes
Plenty of work, heaven knows!
Four little arms to hold tight.
Four little cheeks to kiss at night.
(plus my sweet little boy of course)

Picture Fab

