Beauty + Fashion, Family Time, Sunny Florida, Twins

Brown Babies Need Sunscreen Too. #bananaboat

I had the pleasure of being invited to Banana Boat’s 101 Days of Summer Event in Orlando this weekend. Turns out it was a great day to be outdoors because Tropical Storm Debbie hit us the very next day. We had a great day on Saturday enjoying various activities in the park. This served as a great reminder of all the fun families can have outside. Our host Melanie Edwards @modernmami really did it up. She was thoughtful enough to have activities for the bigger kids (ages 5+) and some things for my toddlers.

I have always been diligent about applying sunscreen to my face for vanity reasons (who needs to age prematurely?)  But I admit I have not always been as diligent when it comes to my kids who spend even more time in the sun than I do. When I did apply sunscreen, it turns out I wasn’t using nearly enough. I learned that you need to apply a golf ball sized amount of sunscreen to be truly protected. And contrary to popular belief, even though our brown babies have some additional melanin in their skin, sunscreen is still a must. It protects against immediate sunburns but also protects from long-term damage.

I was happy to sample the NEW! Natural Reflect line from Banana Boat because it was packed with benefits including several I appreciate as a Mom of kids with sensitive skin:

  • Mild as water with no paraben or PABA ( from my blog you all know one of my 2-year olds struggles with eczema so I look for products that are as mild as possible)
  • SPF 50+ (That’s the same factor Beyonce uses)
  • Tear Free and Sting Free(we all know if we sting a baby once they will never want to use the product again)
  • Water Resistant up to 80 Minutes (We have swim lessons in a few weeks so yay!)
  • 100% Naturally Sourced Mineral Sunscreen Actives, Zinc Oxide (again really good for my daughter’s skin)
  • Mild on Baby’s Delicate, Sensitive Skin
  •  Recommended by The Skin Cancer Foundation
  •  Fragrance-Free
  •  Pediatrician Tested
  •  Hypoallergenic

The Natural Effects Line comes in Baby with SPF 50+, Kids with SPF50+ and General 50+. This post was sponsored by Banana Boat. All opinions are mine.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This is me!

Twenty fingers, Twenty toes
Plenty of work, heaven knows!
Four little arms to hold tight.
Four little cheeks to kiss at night.
(plus my sweet little boy of course)

Picture Fab

