Family Time, Working Mom

5 Quick Tips for a Better You

It seems like all the information out there about heath and wellness gets to be very overwhelming sometimes. At a recent breakfast sponsored by McDonalds and the @CFL Latina Bloggers, a nutritionist was on hand to explain in simple terms the 5 things we need to focus on to stay happy and healthy.  You’re probably just as busy as I am so these tips will probably work well for you too.

#1 – Eat Breakfast.  Yes, it is a bit of a cliché but it is probably one for a very good reason. As the nutritionist Sylvia Klinger explained, we need to think of our bodies as a car. We can’t drive our car without fuel. Breakfast is the fuel that starts our engines and gets us going. (smiley face hotcakes for my son)

 

#2 – Keep hydrated. This one is especially relevant for those of us in the hotter climates. Water is great to keep us hydrated but also a great way to help us feel fuller.

 #3 – Variety  – Try a good variety of foods. We are all grownups. We all should know by now what is a treat, what’s meant as an indulgence and what we should eat more of.  Add lots of fruits, veggies and whole grain to our diet. Limit sugars and sweets. Pretty simple.

#4 – Exercise – This one is my nemesis. I never have enough time in the day to do everything on my list and let me tell you, exercise is not on my list. So here is where I need to be a whole lot better.

# 5- Rest – Love this one! But like exercise, this doesn’t seem to happen often enough either. After the kids go to bed, there seem to be a million and one things I need to get to and lying down is just not a priority. I learned from Sylvia that we need to recharge, refortify and rejuvenate.

Hope these quick and easy tips are something you and I can both incorporate into our daily lives.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This is me!

Twenty fingers, Twenty toes
Plenty of work, heaven knows!
Four little arms to hold tight.
Four little cheeks to kiss at night.
(plus my sweet little boy of course)

Picture Fab

More Photos
