Family Time, Hubby Time, Working Mom

The 5pm Walk of Shame

No judgment but some of us may have had some questionable dates in our 20’s that caused us to do the dreaded walk of shame. But now as a mother, this walk of shame is so much worse. I am talking about the yucky feeling that comes around 4:45 when you know you’ve promised to pick up your child, or perhaps you need to be at some sort of activity with your little one.  I wish a there was a hole in my office like on the Jetsons where I could just jump through straight to the main lobby without having to see anyone as I leave. Leaving at 5pm is not a regular occurrence, although my husband would love it to be, but when I have to it tears me up inside.

In my office I have two options. One path leads me past my boss who I always pray is in a meeting and the other leads me down a row of childless colleagues who have no issue staying until who knows when.  Either path makes me anxious. Even though my boss is very supportive, I wonder if he questions my leaving at 5pm. And then I worry that my colleagues are judging me.

I echo the sentiments of Ann-Marie Slaughter that as women we cannot have it all. I applaud Marissa Mayer for trying but I know what works for me. As I see it I have two options, I can disappoint my family or I can disappoint work. The work disappointment lasts only those few minutes when I feel bad for leaving.  I believe disappointing my family lasts a lifetime. I don’t want to teach my children that mommy is not a person of her word. I want them to know that they can always count on me to do as I promised.

I try to alleviate any issues at work by coming earlier but no matter how early you come in, people only see that you leave on some days at 5pm.

Here are some photos of the things I get to enjoy with my family by leaving the office.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The 5pm Walk of Shame

  1. Your children are so adorable 🙂

    Posted by Emkkay6789 | August 16, 2012, 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

This is me!

Twenty fingers, Twenty toes
Plenty of work, heaven knows!
Four little arms to hold tight.
Four little cheeks to kiss at night.
(plus my sweet little boy of course)

Picture Fab

